2019 Scholarship Awards

All applicants must be African-American undergraduate students in good standing attending an accredited U.S. college or university. They must be students living in Southern California, or have a permanent residence in Southern California. Applicants must demonstrate a commitment to journalism or a career in news media. Completed applications must be emailed no later than 11 p.m. December 1, 2018.

To apply for the 2018 Scholarship Award, please click here.

Deadline: December 1, 2018

Meet our 2018 Scholarship Winners

At the end of 2017, NABJLA awarded six scholarships to deserving college students. With the support of our members and the Los Angeles Times, we awarded a total of $5,000 to students aspiring to be journalists and communication professionals.

Applications were due at the start of December to Board member Lois Pitter-Bruce who serves as our scholarship committee chairwoman. They had to include a letter of recommendation, copy of the student’s transcript and an essay about the importance of diversity in media. We received nearly a dozen applications.

Below is a short introduction to the winners. Join us at our January meeting, Jan. 20, to help congratulate them.


Julissa James, top left, graduated last month from California State University, Dominguez Hills with a degree in journalism.

Tyler Lowell, bottom left, is a junior at Los Angeles City College majoring in journalism. He already holds a degree in performance studies from Brown University.

Arielle Brumfield, top middle, is a senior majoring in political science and African American studies at Loyola Marymount University. She minors in journalism.

Jordan Hunter, bottom middle, is a sophomore at the University of Southern California where he majors in digital and broadcast journalism.

Kayla Hawkins, top right, is a freshman at Howard University where she majors in communications. She’s from Irvine.

Yamani Wallace, bottom right, recently graduated from California State University, Los Angeles with a degree in television and film studies and broadcast journalism.